Subscriber Login

Forgot Your Username?
Forgot Your Password?
Ball misses out on Heisman, but Rose Bowl on horizon

While Wisconsin’s Monte Ball did not win the Heisman Trophy during Saturday’s award ceremony in New York, the star running back joined two other Badger legends — Alan Ameche and Ron Dayne — as a finalist.
In the end, Baylor quarterback Robert Griffin III won the award recognizing college football’s top player, Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck was second, Alabama running back Trent Richards was third and Ball finished fourth in voting.
Badger running backs are known to take home the hardware, as Ameche won the Heisman Trophy in 1954, and Dayne joined the exclusive Heisman fraternity in 1999.

Tuesday, December 13, 2011 6:45 PM

Add comment

Comments exceeding 1,000 characters will not be accepted. Please refrain from using texting language and spell out all words. All comments are reviewed and must be approved before they are posted.

Security code