Subscriber Login

Forgot Your Username?
Forgot Your Password?
Challenge grant started
After the Eagle River Hub Group meeting on April 2, participants like Fritz Laesser, left, owner of Edgwater Inn and Cottages, and Cheryl Todea, operations director for Trees For Tomorrow, stayed around to share ideas.                                     —Contributed Photo

City Plan Commission supports
Eagle River Connector bike project

A bike path to give people a safe and convenient way to come right to the doorstep of the Eagle River business area is getting closer and closer to becoming a reality.

Recently, the city’s Planning Commission recommended the implementation of the Eagle River Connector project, donations to match a $15,000 matching grant are off to a good start, and a group of the city’s business owners met with the Great Headwaters Trails (GHT) members

Tuesday, April 08, 2014 12:54 PM
Vilas adds sessions for AIS training

Due to changes in the Clean Waters Clean Boats (CWCB) program, Vilas County invasive species coordinator Ted Ritter will now conduct 11 CWCB workshops across Vilas County beginning mid-May.

The following workshops have been scheduled so far. More may be added throughout the county as they are arranged:

  • April 17, Land O’ Lakes Town Hall, 9-10:30 a.m.
  • May 7, St. Germain Community Center, 9-10:30 a.m.
  • May 15, Presque Isle
Tuesday, April 08, 2014 12:53 PM
Vojta upsets incumbent Bates for St. Germain Board seat

Former supervisor John Vojta upset incumbent Supervisor William Bates 271-212 in a St. Germain Town Board election contest Tuesday, April 1.

Bates had served on the St. Germain Town Board for the past three years, while Vojta previously served on the board for six years.

Incumbent Supervisor Marvin Anderson was unopposed for the other supervisory seat.

Because St. Germain has a five-member town board, Chairman Walt Camp, supervisors Alan Albee and Tom Christensen, and Clerk Thomas Martens aren't up for re-election this spring.

Wednesday, April 02, 2014 12:43 PM
Mott wins close race for Oneida Board

Electors in Oneida County District 7 went to the polls  Tuesday, April 1, for a county board supervisor contest and they reelected incumbent Bob Mott of Pelican Lake.

Mott edged challenger  Dennis Schoeneck of Enterprise, 177-172.

Mott has served on the county board for two years.

District 7 includes Enterprise, Schoepke,

Wednesday, April 02, 2014 8:32 AM
Decker, Payne win Pines Board seats

Incumbent Northland Pines School Board member Mark Vander Bloomen lost to challenger and former board member Amy Decker in Area A, 1,130-856, in the election Tuesday.

Area A includes the city of Eagle River and towns of Cloverland, Lincoln and Washington.

In Area B, which is the town of Conover, Jennifer Payne defeated Shirley Kufeldt, 1,106-708. The seat was vacated by  incumbent Mike Jovanovic, who filed for noncandidacy.

All electors in the district could vote in all contests.

Wednesday, April 02, 2014 8:19 AM
Conover voters reject referendum

Town of Conover electors rejected a referendum question in Tuesday’s election to allow the town board to appoint a clerk-treasurer. The referendum lost 131-127.

The “no” vote means filling the position will be solely based upon an election process, according to Town Clerk James Hedberg.

Wednesday, April 02, 2014 8:08 AM
Phelps votes down broadband question

Phelps residents voted Tuesday night against a referendum asking to purchase or lease property for broadband expansion in the town.

The referendum was voted down 230 to 164.

The question posed on the ballot read as follows: “Would you support using taxpayers’ dollars to purchase or lease property and equipment for the expansion of broadband throughout the town of Phelps?”

Wednesday, April 02, 2014 8:05 AM
Pietenpol, Mesun elected to school board in Phelps

Colleen Pietenpol and Kathleen Mesun have earned seats on the Phelps School Board, as voters ousted incumbent member Mark Grmick Tuesday.

Pietenpol garnered the most votes with 272, followed by Mesun with 265 and Grmick with 146.

Wednesday, April 02, 2014 8:04 AM
DuQuaine, Kimmerling earn seats on Phelps board

Voters in Phelps Tuesday night elected Dorothy Kimmerling and Mike DuQuaine to seats on the Phelps Town Board.

DuQuaine had the most votes with 252, followed by Kimmerling with 245.

Lorin Johnson and Cindy Regozzi lost the election with 158 votes and 53 votes, respectively.

Wednesday, April 02, 2014 8:03 AM
Hassey beats Vander Bloomen for Lincoln Town Board seat

Bill Hassey defeated Kara Vander Bloomen 373-158 for a town board supervisory position for the town of Lincoln in the spring election  Tuesday, April 1.

Incumbent Supervisor Bruce Richter also had an expiring term this spring, but was unopposed.

Hassey will replace incumbent Leon Kukanich on the town board. Kukanich lost in the primary.

Wednesday, April 02, 2014 7:54 AM | Updated ( Wednesday, April 02, 2014 8:02 AM )