Subscriber Login

Forgot Your Username?
Forgot Your Password?

Woman, 62, struck by vehicle at intersection in Three Lakes

A?62-year-old woman was struck by a motor vehicle at the intersection of Superior Street and West School Street in Three Lakes last Thursday, according to a release from the Three Lakes Police Department.

Authorities responded to the scene at approximately 4:24 p.m.

Preliminary investigation by police revealed that the vehicle had stopped at the stop sign on West School Street and began to turn westbound onto Superior Street when the vehicle struck the pedestrian in the crosswalk.

The pedestrian was transported

Tuesday, April 01, 2014 1:23 PM
Sign of spring
With temperatures in the low 50s Sunday and Monday, the first open water finally appeared on the Eagle River. Lakes still have about 30 inches of ice, though much of the snow on the lake surface turned to water.          —STAFF PHOTO
Tuesday, April 01, 2014 1:22 PM
Three Lakes School Board adopts trapshooting club
By Briana Jones
News Correspondent

A sport gaining popularity across much of the Midwest will make its debut in the area, as the Three Lakes School Board approved the district’s first-ever trapshooting club at its meeting last week.

The club marks a new chapter for the Three Lakes School District. The club only will be available to high school students, grades nine to 12, and science teacher Al Votis will lead the students as head coach.

He recently earned his shotgun coaching certification from the NRA in a two-day course consisting of classroom instruction and on-the-range practical coaching exercises.

Votis said the idea came to him after a conversation

Tuesday, April 01, 2014 1:21 PM
Concrete association names Stefonik to board of directors

The Wisconsin Ready Mixed Concrete Association recently selected its 2014 Board of Directors at its annual convention, including naming Brian Stefonik of Northern Lakes Concrete in Eagle River producer director.

The convention was held in mid-March at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee.

The Wisconsin Ready Mixed Concrete Association is a statewide trade association consisting of ready-mixed concrete producers and associate members throughout the state and Michigan’s Upper Peninsula.

The mission of the Wisconsin Ready Mixed Concrete Association

Tuesday, April 01, 2014 1:21 PM
Anita Allen of Holiday station inducted into Pinnacle Club

Holiday Stationstores — a Midwest-based convenience store and gas station chain — has announced that Eagle River Holiday Stationstore Manager Anita Allen was inducted into the organization’s Pinnacle Club.

This is the second year Allen was inducted into the Pinnacle Club. The induction ceremony and celebratory events involving the inductees took place in Minneapolis, Minn.

The celebration included a formal luncheon, an evening of theater, dining and other activities.

The Pinnacle Club is reserved for store managers and district managers of Holiday

Tuesday, April 01, 2014 1:21 PM