Subscriber Login

Forgot Your Username?
Forgot Your Password?
Eagles return 16 letterwinners; open play this Friday at home
Returning letterwinners on the Northland Pines football team include, front row from left, Lance Bontrager, Bailey Ramesh, John Puffer, Hunter Foster, Luke Freund, Tim Ebert and Joe Roach; back row, Jack Sarama, Brett Bucher, Ryan Ozelie, Kory Droes, Josh Lacko, Dan Peters and Nick Dean. Missing were Allan VanderBloomen and Jake Jantzen.         —STAFF PHOTO
By Gary Ridderbusch
News-Review Editor

The Northland Pines Eagles football team is looking to improve on its third-place conference finish last year and advance deeper into the WIAA?playoffs during the 2014 season set to open this Friday.

Head coach Eric Swanson will put 16 returning letterwinners on the field, but depth could be a problem for the Eagles.

Pines will open the season this Friday, Aug. 22,

Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:25 PM
Three Lakes football returns five players
Those returning to the field to play eight-man football for Three Lakes this season include, front row from left, Mitch Raatz and Jacob Fath; back row, Justin Ertz, Gavin Maney and Chase Kirby.                     —Staff Photo By ANTHONY DREW
By Anthony Drew
News-Review Asst. Editor

The Three?Lakes Bluejays eight-man football team will return five letterwinners to the field for the 2014 season.

The returning players include Gavin Maney, Jake Fath, Mitch Raatz, Justin Ertz and Chase Kirby.

Maney and Raatz will share quarterback duties this season, according to coach Tyler Maney. The two also will take turns lining up in the backfield

Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:24 PM
Drivers, fans honor Stevens at speedway

Whether it was the hot and humid weather, or to put on a show for a special race fan who was watching from above, Eagle River Speedway fans saw the methanol-fueled Micro Sprint 600s hit speeds of more than 93 mph this past Friday night for the Tori Stevens Memorial Race.

Stevens lost a battle with spinal muscular atrophy at the age of 11. She was an avid race fan, as she watched her favorite drivers from her wheelchair until the disease took her life. To honor Stevens, 20 bicycles and dozens of backpacks were given away at the event.

It was in the Micro Sprint 600 feature that Jake Reif

Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:24 PM
Third Bad-Dash race set

The third annual Northwoods Bad-Dash, sponsored by Leinenkugels, the Manitowish Waters Chamber of Commerce and the North Lakeland Discovery Center, will be held Saturday, Aug. 30.

Registration will be held at 8 a.m. at the Manitowish Waters Community Center and the race will begin at 9 a.m. at the North Lakeland Discovery Center.

“This is a fun, untimed race where participants will take on 12 obstacles including a mud crawl, fish crib climb, the Lambeau Leap and much more,” said an event spokesperson.

The Bad-Dash is open to spectators and the public. To register or volunteer, visit or contact the chamber at or (715) 543-8488.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:23 PM
Snedden, Christensen, Burkett, ’81 football team to be inducted
Members of the 1981 Northland Pines High School football team included, front row from left, Larry Snedden, Tim Richards, Kevin Ives, Mike Cestkowski, John Potters, Mike Kugler, Bruce Berens, Ray Kubiaczyk, Dave Rodgers, Dave Thyne and Bryan Krumplitch; second row, Jim Wagner, Brad Wedow, Tom Haverkampf, Tracy Hedberg, Ken Muleman, Karl Zimmerman, Jim O’Brien, Tracey Ahlborn, Tim McCormick, Tim Krause, Marc O’Brien, Tim Ritzer and Mike Olson; and third row, Paul Bohnen, Woody Ahlborn, Bob Richardson, Jon Maines, Ed Culver, Jeff Jellen, Shane Zaruba, Dennis DeLoye, Rob Mohn, Garth Darton, Paul Rodgers, Kurt Hartwig, Kent Gray, Ed Johnston, Jeff Duening and Rich Barker. Coaches missing from the photo were head coach John Wainwright and assistant coaches Ray Dillahunt, Mike Reimer and Jim Lyons.                                —Contributed Photo

A standout athlete, a coach, a supporter of athletic programs and a team will make up the 12th class to be inducted into the Eagle River/Northland Pines High School (NPHS) Athletic Hall of Fame.

The individuals to be honored will be former athlete Dennis Snedden, coach Rollie Christensen and sports backer Jerry Burkett. In addition, the 1981 football team will be inducted.

The enshrinement ceremony will be this Friday, Aug. 22,

Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:21 PM
Lions donation
The Eagle River Lions Club recently donated $250 to the Eagle River-Northland Pines Athletic Hall of Fame. Taking part in the check presentation were Lions Club member Deb Boone (left) and Hall of Fame representative John Wainwright.                                    —Contributed Photo
Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:21 PM
Paez looks to nine letterwinners to keep Pines soccer tradition
Returning letterwinners for the Northland Pines boys soccer team include, front row from left, Carson Cox, Stephen Chamberlain, Jacob Grosskopf, Colton Raymond and Lukas Sergent; back row, Ryan Hom, David Zillmer, Gabe Hartwig and Nick Satterfield. The Eagles open play this week.                               —Staff Photo By GARY RIDDERBUSCH
By Gary Ridderbusch
News-Review Editor

New Northland Pines boys soccer coach Andres Paez will look to nine returning letterwinners to lead the Eagles as they battle for the top spot in the Lumberjack Conference this fall.

Paez replaces Larry Favorite at helm of the Pines soccer program. Favorite led the Eagles from 2006 through 2013 winning nu­merous conference titles in that run.

It is not the first coaching stint for Paez,

Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:20 PM
Lake Forest champions
The Lake Forest Golf Club 2014 club champions include, from left, ladies scratch champion Karen Ander-  son, men’s scratch champion Bob Richardson, ladies handicap champion Kathy Simac, and men’s handicap champion Dave Jensen.  —Contributed Photo
Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:19 PM
Shake A?Leg fun run set in Land O’ Lakes

A?five-mile?run/walk/bike will take place in Land O’ Lakes Saturday, Sept. 20, and will benefit the Amputee Blade Runners, a nonprofit organization that helps provide free running prosthetics for amputees.

Shake a Leg for Amputee Blade Runners will begin at 2 p.m. rain or shine at Black Oak Inn and will end at Brew’s Pub.

Race fees are $20 for early bird registrations postmarked by Friday, Aug. 29, or $25 for registrations postmarked after Aug. 29 or received the night before or day of the race.

Prerace activities are planned Friday, ?Sept. 19,

Tuesday, August 19, 2014 1:19 PM
Eagle River Pickleball Association begins improvements on courts
Some of the lady participants at the inaugural Eagle River Pickleball Tournament Aug. 2 included, from left, Diane Krieghoff, Dee Drymalski, Melody West, Ginny Shaker, Jane Athow, Judy Dow, Marsha Johnson and Karen Young. Missing from the photo was Sandie Hunt. In the women’s division, Athow took first, Johnson took second and West took third. For the men, it was Karl Athow taking first, Gary Carlton in second and John Biggs in third.                                     —Contributed Photo
By News-Review Staff

The Eagle River Pickleball Association has begun work repairing the Riverview Park playing courts, thanks to donations and help from the club members themselves and the city of Eagle River.

The Eagle River Council recently voted to allow the Eagle River Pickleball Association to take over the courts at the Riverview Park and use them for pickleball play.

Since the courts had large cracks in them,

Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:38 PM