Subscriber Login

Forgot Your Username?
Forgot Your Password?
Upper Peninsula racers nearly sweep features at speedway

Street Stock racers from throughout Wisconsin and Michigan’s Upper Peninsula converged on the challenging one-third-mile tri-oval at Eagle River Speedway last Friday night for the fifth annual Jake Mullins Memorial Race.

Fourteen of the best in the class started the feature, but a five-car pile up on the hairpin third turn knocked out the winner of the second heat race — and one of the favorites to win the feature — Glenwood City’s Ron Han­nestad.

With the field down to 11 drivers, the large turnout of fans still didn’t know who would be the favorite.

As the race wound down, it turned out to be a bumper-to-bumper,

Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:38 PM
Pines Hall of Fame sets induction night

The Eagle River/Northland Pines High School ­Athletic Hall of Fame Committee announced it will induct a stand-out athlete, a golf coach, a long-time sports supporter and a football team to the hall Friday, Aug. 22.

The athlete to be inducted is 1985 graduate Dennis Snedden, along with former golf coach Rollie Christensen and supporter Jerry “Bucky” Burkett. They will be joined by the 1981 football team at the 2014 induction ceremony and other festivities.

The hall of fame committee invites friends, classmates

Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:37 PM
Club champs
Kyran Kree (middle) battled past club champions Jim Kauzlaric (left) and Garth Gilster to win the 2014 Eagle River Golf Course Men’s Club Championship. Kree shot a 142 in the two-day golf event, playing even par.  —Staff Photo By ANTHONY DREW
Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:37 PM
A Flight winners
Eagle River Golf Course recently held its Men’s Club Championship. Winners of the A Flight were, from left, Mike Winter and Terry Bingham.  —Staff Photo By ANTHONY DREW
Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:36 PM
Phelps golf tourney
 The North South Twin Lake Riparian Lake Association recently held its second annual Phelps Big Sand Lake Golf Outing. Thirty-two golfers participated in the two-person scramble. Event winners included, from left, Jerry Maara, Chris Darton, Diane Micke and Doug Peterson. The men won with a score of 34 and the women with 40. Other event winners included Kay Hickson, closest to pin; Steve Bahrke, mens’ longest drive; Kay Hickson, women’s longest drive; Steve Bahrke, men’s long putt; and Marilyn Hilliard, women’s long putt.  —Photo By Sharon Gifford
Tuesday, August 12, 2014 1:35 PM