Subscriber Login

Forgot Your Username?
Forgot Your Password?
League champs
The Eagle River Monday Night Dart League champs for 2013-’14 include, front row from left, John Dutz and Paul Meutlein; back row, Chris Blicharz, Peter Blicharz and Bob Dutz. 	—Contributed Photo
Tuesday, May 13, 2014 1:28 PM
On the diamond
The Northland Pines softball team faced Tomahawk last Thursday, with the Eagles losing a heart-breaker 5-4 in eight innings. Pines hitters (above) both swung away and bunted to get on base.                        —Staff Photo By              GARY RIDDERBUSCH
Tuesday, May 13, 2014 1:27 PM
Olson Memorial to hold 20th annual Golf Classic

The Walter E. Olson Memorial Library Foundation will hold its 20th annual golf classic Sunday, June 8, at Eagle River Golf Course.

This year, the golf classic will introduce a new format featuring a two-person scramble in six flights and $1,800 in prizes.

Tee time is slated for 1 p.m. with dinner and the awards presentation to follow.

Golfers will also have the opportunity to

Tuesday, May 13, 2014 1:26 PM
Eagle girls tie Lakeland 0-0, then beat Antigo 9-0 in GNC
Pines senior midfielder Carly Ridderbusch moved the ball up the field against Lakeland in the 0-0 tie.       —STAFF PHOTO
By Gary Ridderbusch
News-Review Editor

The Northland Pines girls soccer team tied Lakeland 0-0 and beat Antigo 9-0 in a pair of Great Northern Conference (GNC) games last week.

Pines also lost two nonconference games to Ashland and Wisconsin Rapids Assumption in a double dual on Sam Larson Field last Saturday.

After 100 minutes of soccer last Tuesday night in Minocqua,

Tuesday, May 13, 2014 1:25 PM
Second place
The 2014 Wisconsin Michigan Destroyers AAA youth hockey team recently took second place in a tournament in Minneapolis, Minn. The Destroyers beat a Denver, Colo., team 12-1, a team from Minneapolis 6-4, and another Denver team 7-2. The team lost 10-3 to a team from Manitoba, Canada, and lost to that team a second time (10-5) in the championship game. The team included, in front, Darian Bender; second row, from left, Ty Gilbertson, Dakota Maki, Luke Helgeson, Brent Gulenchyn, Hunter Bill, Mark Ladewig and Zack Friske; back row, assistant coach Andy Zaleski, Braxton Zaleski, Tylor White, Madison Stebbeds, Jacob Dekarske, Josh Dekarske, Jacob Barth, Alec Lesavage, Jordan Grace and head coach Jeff Stebbeds. 	—Contributed Photo
Tuesday, May 13, 2014 1:24 PM